NPCA
To ensure delivery to your inbox, please add us to your address book: takeaction@npca.org

Amache, Colorado


Dear Friend of the National Parks,

I'm pleased to invite you to an upcoming Trustees for the Parks virtual talk featuring an exciting opportunity to tell an American story. On Wednesday, March 24, learn why NPCA supports the potential creation of a new national park in Colorado at Amache, a former WWII Japanese American incarceration site. In this Park Talk, you'll hear from Amache descendants and experts about the importance of honoring and preserving this place for future generations and learn how you can take action.

I hope you will join us! Please find the details below.

WHAT: Preserve and protect the stories of Amache

Featured speakers:

Tracy Coppola, Colorado Program Manager
Elliot Richardson, Cultural Resources Analyst

Special guest panelists:
  • Bonnie Clark, Professor of Anthropology and University of Denver Amache Project Director
  • Mitch Homma, Amache descendant and Vice President on the Board of Managers for the American Baptist Historical Society
  • Derek Okubo, Amache descendant and Executive Director, Agency for Human Rights and Community Partnerships ‎City and County of Denver

WHEN: Wednesday, March 24, 12 p.m. PT, 1 p.m. MT, 2 p.m. CT, 3 p.m. ET

WHERE: Zoom link and call-in number provided when you RSVP

rsvp here

We hope to see you on March 24th, but if you are not able to attend the Park Talk live, please email zkirby@npca.org to receive a link to the recording.

Sincerely,

Abby Evans

Abby Evans
Associate Director, Trustees for the Parks

Present-day Amache guard tower, barracks and water tower © Tracy Coppola

NPCA | 777 6th Street, NW | Suite 700 | Washington, DC 20001
800.NAT.PARK | npca@npca.org

This message was sent to by the National Parks Conservation Association.
Click here to change your email preferences.

powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software